Oral & Physical Health

Sealants

Dental sealants are plastic coatings that are usually placed on the chewing surface of the permanent back teeth — the molars and premolars — to help protect them from decay.

The Arcora Foundation (formerly the Washington Dental Foundation) has funded CISSC to lead the Local Impact Network to increase the number of dental sealants to low income children.  SMILE Spokane is our local partner that engages all community members interested in improving oral health in Spokane County.

ToothSavers is a highly successful sealant provider that actually goes into schools with 50% or more children eligible for free and reduced lunch and applies the sealants.  Medicaid and other insurance pays for the treatment.  Parents wanting to sign up for the service can find a consent form here.

Connecting families to Dentists

Our goal is for children and families to have a dental “home” where they will feel connected to a dentist and maintain everyone’s teeth in their family for life.

Physical Health

Despite having health insurance from Medicaid, many at-risk children do not routinely see a primary health provider.  Working with CHAS Health and others, we attempt to link those providers to our students and their families.  The lack of funds for transportation, even public transportation is a significant barrier for most families.  Our goal is to assist the Washington State University School of Medicine to obtain a mobile clinic which could then go to schools where students are.

Contact Information

Spokane Public Schools

Rebecca Clemens: 509-999-9854 rebecca@cisspokane.org Sheridan Elementary
Anna Linquist: anna@cisspokane.org Sheridan Elementry,Shaw MS
Kevin Partridge: 360-929-0672 kevin@cisspokane.org Garry Middle
Michael Morkve: 503-960-2497 michael@cisspokane.org Garry Middle
Ryan Douse: 509-607-2770 ryan@cisspokane.org Shaw Middle
Melissa Davaz: 509-435-1142 melissa@cisspokane.org Shaw Middle
Bridget Reilly: 509-998-9455 bridget@cisspokane.org Rogers HS
Nina Moore: 509-341-4391 nina@cisspokane.org Rogers HS
Shamerica Nakamura: 253-948-2972 shamerica@cisspokane.org North Central HS
Nate Stenson: 530-220-4486 nate@cisspokane.org North Central HS

Cheney Public Schools

Kelly Depner: 559-362-0417 kellyd@cisspokane.org Cheney Middle
Dan White: 509-570-4929 dan@cisspokane.org Westwood Middle
Amber Tice: PT 208-771-4008 amber@cisspokane.org Cheney Middle
Ross Carlson: PT 425-208-1859 ross@cisspokane.org PrimeTime Mentoring Facilitator